Okuma Casting Reels: Baitcaster Buying Guide and 2025–2026 Models

Review method: Researched editorial buying analysis based on okumafishingusa.com and okumafishing.com pages, dated press releases and Tackle Warehouse (TW) specification tables — not personal field testing. Several official Okuma pages give figures that differ from the press releases and TW; both are noted.
← Casting Reels Directory · Feature table · Model specifications · 2025–2026 updates · Company overview · Newest models · Current range
Okuma Casting Reels — features in separate columns
Okuma's braking systems include Velocity Control (centrifugal) and external magnetic cast control; many models use Carbonite drag washers.
| Family | Role | Brake | Frame | Drag (max) | Ratios | Bearings | Saltwater | Generation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Helios XT | Upper-mid bass, flipping | Internal centrifugal (Velocity Control) | ALC aluminum, C-40X sides | 18 lb (TW) / 20+ lb (official) | 6.6 / 7.3 / 8.1 | 10+1 | Not stated | June 2026 |
| Eminent | Value-mid bass | External magnetic | C-40X carbon | 20 lb | 6.6 / 7.3 / 8.1 | 5+1 | Not stated | June 2026 |
| Safyre | Value bass, light inshore | External magnetic | Graphite (TW) | 11 lb (TW) / 20+ lb (official) | 6.6 / 7.3 / 8.1 | 7+1 | “Freshwater and light inshore” | June 2026 |
| Tenma lever-drag casting | GT popping, offshore casting | External MCS magnetic | One-piece machined aluminum | 15 kg (12 kg strike) | 7.0 | 6+1 | Yes — saltwater reel | 2026 US lineup |
| X-Series | Flagship bass | Velocity Control, 18 positions | Diecast aluminum, C-40X sides | 24 lb | 7.3 / 8.1 | 10+1 | Not stated | 2025 model (announced Oct 2024) |
| Komodo SS 250/350/450 | Heavy-duty inshore, striper, musky | 6-pin Velocity Control | AlumiLite diecast | 20–25 lb | 6.4 / 7.1 / 7.3 | 6+1 | Yes — fresh and salt | Long-running line |
| Hakai | Light upper-mid bass | Not published | LiteCast magnesium | 24 lb | 6.2 / 7.3 / 8.1 | 6+1 | Not stated | Date not found |
| Citrix 350 | Swimbait and big fish | Not published | Aluminum | 25 lb | 6.4 (implied) | Not published | Inshore species named | Date not found |
| Serrano | Value bass | External magnetic | Graphite | 11 lb | 6.5 / 7.2 | 6+1 | Not stated | Date not found |
| Halogen | Budget bass | External magnetic | “Built to withstand saltwater” (TW) | 11 lb | 6.5 / 7.2 | 5+1 | Not officially stated | Date not found |
Selected exact-model specifications
Exact codes and figures from Tackle Warehouse unless noted; official Okuma figures are added where they differ. Maximum drag is a ceiling, not a working setting.
| Exact model | Hand | Ratio | Weight | Max drag | Bearings | Line per turn | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HXT-100HA | R (HLA = L) | 7.3:1 | 6.2 oz (official 5.7) | 18 lb (official 20+) | 10+1 | 28.7 in | $199.99 |
| EMT-100HA | R (HLA = L) | 7.3:1 | 5.7 oz | 20 lb | 5+1 | 28.9 in | $109.99 |
| SF-100HA | R (HLA = L) | 7.3:1 | 7.3 oz (official 5.7) | 11 lb (official 20+) | 7+1 | 30.7 in | $89.99 |
| TM-10WXA (Tenma) | R (WXLA = L) | 7.0:1 | 542 g | 15 kg | 6+1 | 120 cm | $469.99 |
| X-100HA | R (X-101HA = L) | 7.3:1 | 5.6 oz | 24 lb | 10+1 | 29 in | $269.99 |
| KDS-364 | R | 6.4:1 | 10.9 oz | 25 lb | 6+1 | 31 in | From $269.99 |
| HDT100H-A | R | 7.3:1 | 5.9 oz | 24 lb | 6+1 | 29.9 in | $149.99 |
| CI-364Pa (Citrix 350) | R | 6.4:1 (implied) | Not published | 25 lb | Not published | Not published | $230.35 |
| SRN100H-A | R | 7.2:1 | 7.0 oz | 11 lb | 6+1 | 29.9 in | $114.99 |
| HG-100H-A | R | 7.2:1 | 7.0 oz | 11 lb | 5+1 | 29.9 in | $91.99 |
2025–2026 updates and current generations
2026: three new low-profile baitcasters shipped around June 2026: the JDM-inspired Helios XT ($199.99), the Eminent ($109.99) and the Safyre ($89.99), all in Okuma USA's 2026 product lineup. The Tenma lever-drag casting reel for giant trevally is also in the 2026 US lineup. A Cold Water SS A low-profile line-counter reel is new too, but it is a trolling reel and is not reviewed here.
2025: the flagship X-Series was announced on 30 October 2024 as a 2025 model. Okuma's ICAST 2025 award was for a fly reel; its August 2025 inshore/offshore announcements included no new baitcasters.
Okuma company and baitcaster-range overview
A Taiwanese maker with strong saltwater credentials
Okuma Fishing Tackle Co. is based in Taichung, Taiwan, with Okuma Fishing USA in Ontario, California. With more than 40 years in business, it is known for value-to-mid-priced reels and is especially strong in saltwater, trolling and line-counter reels. Its baitcaster range spans budget models under $100 to the $269.99 X-Series and Komodo SS, plus the specialist Tenma for GT popping.
Okuma offers both centrifugal (Velocity Control) and external magnetic brakes, and many models use Carbonite or carbon drag washers. Warranty periods differ by model — 3 years on the Helios XT, X-Series, Komodo SS and Hakai, 1 year on the Eminent, Safyre and Halogen.
How to choose
For bass, compare the X-Series flagship, the new Helios XT and the light magnesium Hakai. Budget buyers should compare the new Eminent and Safyre with the Serrano and Halogen. For saltwater, the Komodo SS is the officially fresh-and-salt low-profile choice, while the Tenma is a dedicated offshore casting reel.
Newest 2026 Okuma casting reels
Affiliate disclosure: Amazon buttons are affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.
Helios XT — detailed reviewNEW

Buying role: JDM-inspired upper-mid bass reel (June 2026).
Read the full Helios XT review (110 words)
JDM-inspired
Launched in June 2026, the Helios XT has a rigid ALC aluminum frame, C-40X carbon sideplates, a CNC-cut aluminum drive gear with brass pinion, stainless and Carbonite multi-disc drag with a Japanese-style audible clicker, internal centrifugal Velocity Control braking and a 90 mm swept handle, backed by a 3-year warranty.
Specifications
HXT-100A (6.6:1, 26 in), HXT-100HA/HLA (7.3:1, 28.7 in) and HXT-100XA (8.1:1, 31.9 in); 10+1 bearings; 10/130 and 12/110. The press release and TW give 6.2 oz and 18 lb drag; the official page says about 5.7 oz and over 20 lb. $199.99.
Verdict
A well-equipped 2026 reel for bass, walleye, musky and flipping, priced below most aluminum-frame competitors.
Eminent — detailed reviewNEW

Buying role: June 2026 value-mid reel with carbon frame.
Read the full Eminent review (66 words)
Specifications
EMT-100A (6.6:1), EMT-100HA/HLA (7.3:1) and EMT-100XA (8.1:1): about 5.6–5.7 oz, 20 lb drag, 5+1 bearings, 10/130; C-40X carbon frame and sideplates, CNC aluminum drive gear, carbon drag washers, audible drag clicker, external magnetic brake, machined aluminum spool and 95 mm carbon handle. $109.99; 1-year warranty. Official and retailer figures agree.
Verdict
Remarkably light for the price — one of the best-value new reels of 2026.
Safyre — detailed reviewNEW

Buying role: June 2026 budget reel for freshwater and light inshore.
Read the full Safyre review (81 words)
Specifications
SF-100A (6.6:1, 27.5 in), SF-100HA/HLA (7.3:1, 30.7 in) and SF-100XA (8.1:1, 33.8 in); 7+1 bearings, 14/130, 34 mm aluminum spool, external magnetic brake. TW lists 7.3 oz and 11 lb drag; the official page says 5.7 oz and over 20 lb — confirm before buying. $89.99; 1-year warranty.
Verdict
Okuma describes it for “freshwater and light inshore” use — the closest any of the 2026 trio comes to a salt claim. A good budget all-rounder once the specifications are confirmed.
Tenma lever-drag casting reel — detailed reviewNEW

Buying role: Round lever-drag casting reel for GT popping.
Read the full Tenma lever-drag casting reel review (110 words)
A specialist saltwater caster
The Tenma is a fully machined one-piece aluminum reel with a light FLITE SPOOL, XL stainless gearing, external MCS magnetic cast control, carbon drag with Cal's grease, double anti-reverse and CRC coating. Okuma's global site marks it new; it is in the 2026 US lineup and sold through dealers.
Specifications
TM-10WXA (right) / TM-10WXLA (left): 7.0:1, 120 cm per crank, 542 g, 6+1 bearings, 12 kg drag at strike and 15 kg full; braid only — 65 lb/410 yd, 80/320, 100/270. $469.99.
Verdict
A purpose-built offshore casting reel for giant trevally and similar species — not a bass reel. It overlaps with our Conventional Reels category.
Official Tenma lever-drag casting reel specifications · Back to comparison
Okuma flagship, saltwater and value reels
X-Series — detailed review

Buying role: Okuma's bass flagship (2025 model).
Read the full X-Series review (66 words)
Specifications
Announced 30 October 2024: diecast aluminum frame, C-40X carbon sideplates, aluminum main gear with brass pinion, Carbonite drag, 18-position Velocity Control, ported spool, 100 mm carbon handle, 3-year warranty. X-100HA/101HA (7.3:1, 29 in) and X-100XA/101XA (8.1:1, 32 in): 5.6 oz, 24 lb drag, 10+1 bearings, 12/110. MSRP $269.99.
Verdict
Light, strong drag and highly adjustable braking; the Helios XT offers similar ingredients for $70 less.
Komodo SS — detailed review

Buying role: Heavy-duty fresh and saltwater low-profile reel.
Read the full Komodo SS review (68 words)
Specifications
Stainless steel main and pinion gears, AlumiLite frame, Carbonite drag, 6-pin Velocity Control, zirconium guide and dual anti-reverse; officially for fresh and salt water. KDS-273 (7.3:1, 31.5 in, 7.8 oz, 20 lb), KDS-364 (6.4:1, 31 in, 10.9 oz, 25 lb) and KDS-371LX (7.1:1, 34.3 in, 10.9 oz, 25 lb). Bearings 6+1 per TW's table. From $269.99.
Verdict
Okuma's go-to inshore low-profile for redfish, snook, stripers and musky.
Hakai — detailed review

Buying role: Light magnesium-frame bass reel.
Read the full Hakai review (47 words)
Specifications
LiteCast magnesium frame, 42 mm hardened brass main gear, stainless/carbon hybrid drag, hollow Fliteshaft spool shaft. HDT100-A (6.2:1, 25.2 in), HDT100H-A (7.3:1, 29.9 in), HDT100X-A (8.1:1, 33 in), with left-hand versions; 5.9–6.0 oz, 24 lb drag, 6+1 bearings; $149.99.
Verdict
Excellent weight-to-price ratio for bass fishing.
Citrix 350 — detailed review

Buying role: Large low-profile for swimbaits and big fish.
Read the full Citrix 350 review (51 words)
Specifications
CI-364Pa with power handle: 25 lb drag, 14 lb/230 yd, aluminum frame and sideplates, Dura Brass gearing, stainless spool shaft. Ratio (implied 6.4:1), weight and bearings were not published. $230.35. Okuma names inshore species but lists it in its freshwater collection.
Verdict
A capacity-focused option for swimbait and trophy-fish anglers.
Serrano — detailed review

Buying role: Value bass reel.
Read the full Serrano review (41 words)
Specifications
SRN100-A (6.5:1), SRN100H-A (7.2:1) and SRN101-A (left, 6.5:1): 7.0 oz, 11 lb drag, 6+1 bearings, 12/120, graphite construction, brass gearing, external magnetic brake. $114.99.
Verdict
Simple and easy to set up; the 2026 Eminent is lighter at a similar price.
Halogen — detailed review

Buying role: Budget bass reel.
Read the full Halogen review (52 words)
Specifications
HG-100-A / 101-A (6.5:1) and HG-100H-A / 101H-A (7.2:1): 7.0 oz, 11 lb drag, 5+1 bearings, 12/120, external magnetic brake, machined aluminum spool. $91.99. A retailer says the frame is built to withstand saltwater; Okuma does not state saltwater approval.
Verdict
A low-cost reel for beginners; compare with the 2026 Safyre.
Official sources
Specifications from Okuma USA, Okuma global and Tackle Warehouse; dates from dated releases. Other current Okuma baitcasters not reviewed: Epixor “A”, Ceymar ODT Limited Edition and Ceymar LP.
- Okuma USA baitcast reels
- Okuma USA 2026 lineup
- Fishing Tackle Retailer — Helios XT
- The Fishing Wire — Eminent
- The Fishing Wire — Safyre
- Bass Angler Magazine — X-Series
- Okuma global — Tenma
Compare manufacturers: Shimano · Daiwa · Abu Garcia · Lew's · 13 Fishing · PENN · KastKing · Pflueger.